Special Announcement: Pop Songs 07 On WFMU

October 22, 2007

It might only be up on the WFMU site for one week, so please do check out the archive of my appearance on Trent Wolbe’s Safe and Sound show while you can. We talk a bit about this site, and play about three hours worth of R.E.M. songs. We managed to play at least one song from every album, but that wouldn’t have been possible if I didn’t bring in a couple burned cds and the new live record because the last four studio albums have been purged from the WFMU library.

Not to be all Jarvis Cocker about this, but I suggest that you refrain from looking at the playlist whilst listening to the show!

Edit: If you want to hear it as an mp3 instead of a real audio thing, please click here.

21 Responses to “Special Announcement: Pop Songs 07 On WFMU”

  1. Ben Says:

    according to their playlist, there’s nothing from around the sun, except for the live from dublin version of one song. How much DO you hate that record, Matthew?


  2. Ben, that’s the Around The Sun song. Like I said, I did not have the album on hand. It was a good thing I had the Live record with me, or there wouldn’t have been anything from it in the show at all. My options were really, really limited for post-Monster material, though they did have the In Time compilation, which accounts for the Hi-Fi songs in the set.

  3. Elliot H. Says:

    Feeling Gravitys Pull is one of my favorites (if not my favorite) as well. It’s just so dramatic and epic and the lyrics are so filled with rich imagery, I can see why you have some writers block. I know you’ll nail it though, you did with Camera (which is my other favorite).

  4. ScottMalobisky Says:

    Matthew , you mean I now get to hear your voice ? Now all I need is a photo , preferrably not nekked

  5. Elliot H. Says:

    Could someone link that Pavement blog? I want to see it.


  6. Oh god, can we PLEASE not link it from here? Just google “I Can’t Sing It Strong Enough.”

  7. Kirsten Says:

    Wish I had sound on this computer – so I can stay up late to hear your voice. Will have to leave it up to everyone’s comments to get a general overview.

    I thought the playlist looked pretty good.

  8. jft Says:

    I’ve been listening to that radio show now for the three hours it lasted while learning to some stuff simultaneously (at least during the songs were played, during the dialogues I needed to stop learning as I wanted to understand everything ;)) and I need to say I really enjoyed that one, as much as I enjoy reading your blog each time a new post comes out, I rarely post comments about the songs, but most of the time I read quite a lot of the comments as well and after having read your post and some comments get to hear the certain song again for some certain aspects. I must say, I’ve rediscovered some brilliant song which I once marked as being some of the few R.E.M. songs you don’t really need to listen. Of course, many times I don’t exactly think it’s right (from my subjective perspective) but at least it’s convincing from your point of view (one of the few times I wrote sth was on “I’ll Take The Rain” – I remember that one as you mentioned it again on the radioshow – which definitely to me is one of the most beautiful and greatest songs R.E.M.’s ever written, but I can see why some don’t like it… and isn’t that the great thing about music? the possibility to discuss over this and that, and never have an objective answer to one’s favours – as there is none :)) thanks.

  9. Bunnia Says:

    This is going to be awesome! Can’t wait to hear it, Matthew!! Great playlist. However, I’m surprised you have Radio Song on there. *in total shock* I thought you hated that song and the thought of R.E.M. using a Rap/Hip Hop artist in their songs. You said it was a mistake. I disagree. I hope it’s nothing racial.

    Anyway, thanks for the announcement.

  10. Elliot H. Says:

    …Racial?


  11. Oh god, it’s not racial at all. I just think it’s a poor match/weak execution thing. “Radio Song” is a great song, but its charms are obscured by this tacked-on thing that says “AHHHHH 1990!!!!!!!!!” and clashes with the general tone of the album.

  12. protimoi86 Says:

    “um, that was NOT Begin The Begin. Here it really is…”

    classic. made that mistake myself back in my high school radio days. i enjoyed listening nonetheless – great song selection. good call on the live studio version of “Suspicion,” especially.

  13. Ignis Sol Says:

    Thanks, Matthew. I am listening to it now. I am also a writer for various publications. I am working on a couple stories and it is helping me to focus. I just got off from eleven days as a House Manager for the Seattle LGBT Film Festival. Great job!

    Time to get my house in order.

  14. Dark Bob Says:

    Three hours devoted to REM on the radio is a pretty cool and rare thing. A bit long, but as a long time fan I really enjoyed it. Nice job!

  15. lenny Says:

    Great idea for a radio show — I’m glad that you had the opportunity to go on. I’m about 2/3 through it, and I’m noticing how interesting it is to hear some of these songs out of the context of their albums.

    What I mean by that — every REM album that I own is really worth listening to from start to finish — so it’s nice to hear them out of order and along side songs from other albums for a change. I especially liked the stretch with “I Believe”, “You are the Everything”, and “Tongue”. I’m glad you hit my favorite song on my favorite REM album (LRP).

    Also — your surprise at people liking “Wendell Gee” really comes across more strongly on the air than it did on the blog. You were really shocked, huh? I’m not surprised that a lot of people love it, but I’m not surprised that some dislike it, too.

  16. ScottMalobisky Says:

    incredible coincidence
    just went to WFMU on line for the first time ever —
    and what is the song that is playing ??—The Crust Brothers doing the Tuesday’s Gone cover ……(I used to know some girls , “crust” was their ultimate playful sometimes drunken insult term , they’d be like, ” You crust you !” “No, you da crust..!”) …….incredible coincidence or highly sophisticated conspiracy in action here ????:) those daggone Illuminati pulling strings again

  17. ScottMalobisky Says:

    damn, this is really frustrating …….the archive goes for about 2 or 3 seconds,then I get a “network stalled” . has to “reload” and then another 2 or 3 seconds,and then agin the same, haven’t gotten past the first 30 seconds of Untitled yet –any advice?–or is it just my lame ass computer ?

  18. ScottMalobisky Says:

    I’m thinking that if I just let it run , just walk away and let it go from start to finish once complete with all the stuttering that the next time I listen it’ll be a smooth post-download situation. I’ll try that. ………..hmnn, this is -what?-about three hours long, which means it’ll take about nine hours to download.

  19. Paul Alferink Says:

    Enjoyed it. Stayed up way to late listening to it. Now I’m going to be all groggy going into work tomorrow.

  20. maclure Says:

    Hey MP – don’t know if you’re still checking this thread – managed to listen to most of the radio show. Picking three hours worth of REM tracks and gassing about the fab 4 (now 3). How cool! Anyway, it was great to hear your “insider” comments on writing a blog like this… well done, fella! (as they say where I come from).

  21. ScottMalobisky Says:

    categorized in the uncategorized category


Leave a Reply

